Daily Archives: May 20, 2012

This Week in Wildflowers, News & Politics

Standing Cypress About all I did this week was take a few wildflower shots.  I was reasonably happy with them except that it has been very windy in the latter part of this week making macro shots much more challenging.  

This photo that’s turned into an ongoing project of getting the best shot I can of the beautiful red “Standing Cypress” flowers.  The plants are over three feet tall and the wind has been whipping them around quite a bit making macro shots very difficult.  My aim is an image of the flowers back-lit by the evening sun.  On my first evening I captured one that I really liked except that I was forced to use a faster shutter than I wanted necessitating a wider aperture resulting in a less than stellar depth of field / focus.  I tried again the next evening (still somewhat windy) and managed to get a much better focus using a different stalk that was caught at the top in a barbed wire which greatly reduced it’s movement in the wind.  The problem with this one though is that there is a parallel barbed wire running through the picture, which is not bad, but a bit of a distraction because it seems to be the first or second thing people viewing it have noticed.  I’m thinking about trying one more time this evening if this stupid wind will die down a bit.  If I do get a better one, then this one will be replaced, otherwise I like this one the best so far.  In all cases, dialing down the exposure by -0.7ev seems to produce the best color.  For this photo, I used my Tameron 90mm macro at 1/100″, f16, iso640 (-0.7ev).

Another photo (below) ended up being black and white because after shooting the color ones, I decided to try it with my yellow filter and then this interesting beetle appeared on the flower, so I had to shoot right then, without time to remove the filter, resulting in a shot I really liked being b&w.

Oh & don’t forget the annular solar eclipse Sunday Night at sunset!

Coreopsis with beetle Coreopsis with bee
Long-headed Coneflower Red Texas Star North Texas Butterflies
<<<<<  Reagan Warned Us About [The Obamanation]
me:Please watch this!

Fringe Postmortem: What’s in Store for the Fifth and Final Season?  by Natalie Abrams, TV Guide, May 11, 2012.

Dupes for the State
by Walter E. Williams, Townhall.com Apr 04, 2012.
me:Good words about private property rights

Plastic-Eating Fungi Found in the Amazon May Solve World’s Waste Problem!
by Emma Hutchings for PSFK, March 7, 2012.
me:Yet another reason envirowhackos and sustainability nuts shouldn’t get their panties all in a wad!

The Obamanation signs law making Free Speech a FELONY
“We are watching YOU!” – the “SS” (Secret Service)
‘Abstinence-only’ sex education has been shown to actually *increase* teen pregnancies. So why in the world do a majority of US states still require that this approach still be taught as the best approach?
me:If a vaccine is given out that is known to be 100% effective in preventing a disease and one refuses to take it and then contracts the disease, then is that a “failure” on the part of the vaccine?!

“‘Reaganomics v. Obamanomics’ – In a Wall Street Journal article in February, 2009, I noted that the emerging Obamanomics followed the exact opposite of every policy of Reaganomics in great detail. I predicted that it would consequently get the exact opposite results. That is what has happened.”
By Peter Ferrara, “Obama’s Debacle“, May 16, 2012.
me:Spot on – over sixteen years of nearly unbroken prosperity vs. nearly four years and counting with eight percent plus unemployment, record gas prices, record welfare roles, zero investment returns, and no recovery in site!

Utah School Fined $15,000 for Accidentally Selling Soda During Lunch
by Jonathon M. Seidl, The Blaze.com, May 17, 2012.  me:This is what happens when you accept federal money, as nearly all of the government schools have done¡

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

