AS WinList Icons-Only HACK!

Well, I guess I have too much time on my hands (between contracts :), so I dusted off my C knowledge and took a brief stab at implementing this feature myself and seem to have it working (at least in my case). Don’t laugh, I am a Perl pgmr, haven’t done any C in years, but here goes: (Latest WinList.c from v2.2.2): The new option value is “*WinListUseName 4”. This causes the display text to be set to “”. The other options (0-3) should still work as before. Only drawback I’ve found so far is that there probably needs to be a new style for “iconified” windows, since I removed the parenthesis from the text as well and now there is nothing indicating that a given window is iconified.
(x-posted on as-users@afterstep.org)

1012c1012,1028
UseName, &encoding );

> /* char *name = get_window_name(wd, Config->UseName, &encoding );
> JWT: CHGD PREV. TO NEXT 14 TO GET TEXT-LESS WINLIST W/ UseName=4 */
> char *name;
> char *showname;
> int usename = Config->UseName;
> if (Config->UseName == 4)
> {
> usename = 0;
> name = get_window_name(wd, usename, &encoding );
> showname = “”;
> }
> else
> {
> name = get_window_name(wd, usename, &encoding );
> showname = name;
> }
>
1082c1098
sprintf(iconic_name, (Config->UseName == 4 ? “%s” : “(%s)”), showname );
1086c1102
add_astbar_label( tbar, 1, 1, 0, align, h_spacing, v_spacing, showname, encoding);

For best effect, I modified my winlist file as follows:
*WinListUseName 4
*WinListIconSize 48×48
*WinListIconAlign left
*WinListAlign left
####*WinListMinSize 10000 #will be truncated to thescreen size
####*WinListMinSize 100 #will be truncated to thescreen size
####*WinListMaxWidth 1376

and turned on balloons.

Enjoy!

JP

Feel Free to Comment (Name/Email/Website optional):

