Thanksgiving Holiday 2010

IMG_2633c I spent TG home with the Fam’ as usual!  Picked up a “Turkey-dinner for 6 Special” from Boston Market (They really do make a good, reasonably priced TG dinner) & took it to the Inlaws Wednesday – That’s what they prefer us to do.

Thursday we fixed a real turkey along w/all the fixin’s here at the house!  Ate lots of turkey & watched lots of football (as usual, lol)!  My mom also came to visit and spent two nights with us.  I spent most of the day Friday putting up the outside Christmas lights – 10 25-bulb C9 light strings around the perimeter of the house.  I’ve been putting these up for over 20 years now & have never had to replace a string.  We started with 5 strings (front & front side of house), then gradually added more until now they go all the way around.  See my previous entry:  “How Togglebolts saved Christmas!” for more.

The interesting thing is that after the usual TG dinner of turkey, mashed potatoes, stuffing, cranberry sause, green beans, wild rice, etc. I always end up craving spicy Mexican food for my next meal, so this year, I stocked up on some beefy and bean burritos from Taco Bueno beforehand & fixed those cravings, lol!
Meanwhile, my Fightin’ Texas Aggies Beat the Heck outta t.u. 24-17 in Austin Memorial Statium capping a great regular season for them and a wonderful Thanksgiving day for me and (most of) my family (My wife is a Longhorn alumnus).  This victory also hands the Longhorns their 1st losing season since 1956!  Cyrus Gray also scored the first Aggie touchdown breaking free for an 84 yard run – Woooot!  

Last week the Aggies set a world record for the number of students attending a college football game with 31,005 students tickets sold and 90,079 total attendance.


Courtesy(c) www.dallasnews.com
Too bad our ‘Boys fumbled away (literally) a chance to win their 3rd straight under new intrim coach Jason Garret, otherwise this year’s Thanksgiving Football results would have been perfect!


My Wilderness Yesterday, I went for a long walk out in our wilderness, took a couple of good pictures (including the one at left) with my Pintax (to use up the roll of film), got them developed in an hour, and then went to Denton to just chill out w/some friends at The Labb.  Overall, a great holiday weekend!  Now, it’s back to work tomorrow¡


Today’s Tech Tips:

My final tribute to this TG is this T-shirt which my daughter gave me a few mths. ago & none of us “got” what it meantuntil Thanksgiving & “The Game” (The annual football game between the Fightin’ Texas Aggies and that other large university in Austin originally abbreviated “TU”). Now it makes TOTAL SENSE! Especially after we BEAT them this year! 😀  Oh & the background is a recent photo of a buck in our front yard.

Aggie Thanksgiving!
 
Feel Free to Comment (Name/Email/Website optional):

