Snow Daze

It’s officially cold as a bucket of penguin poop around here & will remain so for the entire week, it’s supposed to stay below freezing. 3″ of snow/ice on the ground! Canada once again left their big barn door wide open!  Last nite as the temp. plunged, the winds howled, and the thunder (yes – thunder) clapped, the power was off most of the night.  It came on and went off three times before finally coming on for good just after 8 this morning just in time to have to get up and start work dashing my feeble hopes of joining my family for a “snow-day/cold-recovery bag-in”, lol.  I was a little concerned about it staying off too long though, since our heat is also electric and we can’t go anywhere since the roads are glazed in a sheet of ice (I don’t get “snow-days”, since my office == my home!)  Hey, a shout-out to all you linemen at Oncor: YOU ROCK! – for being able & willing to get out in this horrid weather in the wee hours, come out to the boondocks & get our power back on as quickly as you did, even if it took 3 tries – 3 cheers & a star for all of you!!!
IMG_2723
Pic. taken last year. (Better snow, less cold and windy)
Snowbird
I’m blaming it on all those Packers’ and Steelers’ fans that brought their cold, miserable weather w/’em to Texas!  Welcome & have a great time feelin’ right at home, but when the Superbowl is over, puleeeze go home & take your weather with you!  I don’t mind cold weather, but it’s a bit annoying when I have a cold already and have just felt like death warmed over for almost an entire week.  I was contemplating going to the Dr. yesterday (while we still had passable roads), but checked my temp. & it was only 99.1. I never was one for running high fevers, but still feel just as miserable just the same.  This also told me it was viral & therefore there’d be nothing they could do for me but have me stick my tongue out at ’em, tell me how horribly red my throat looks & charge me a hundred bucks.  I’ll just keep takin’ Tylanol® & an alphabet of vitamins!

I’m wanting to go take some snow pics, but don’t want to take a long walk in the howling cold wind since i’m still recovering from a bad head and chest cold (I’ve already taken a zillion snow pics of our place over the years, so don’t really feel like taking any more here).

<Click image. for larger image.

Feel Free to Comment (Name/Email/Website optional):

