Ongoing Linux Upgrade, etc…

two-toned daffodil, backlit
Two-toned Daffodil, backlit by the sun.
I know it’s been a bit since I’ve posted, but I seem to be suffering a bit of “Bloggers’ Block” as of late.  I had a very politically charged opinion piece mostly written up after recently seeing several political Facebook posts that raised my hackles a bit, but my computer ate it in a very weird way that I think was Karma, so I’m convinced that it just wasn’t meant to be.  I don’t like to post much political/religious fare on my Facebook because I have Facebook friends of all religions and political stripes and I do not feel that that is the proper forum for such rants.  When I feel the occasional need to rant, I prefer to do it here where people who don’t wish to see it can simply ignore it.

My Linux upgrade saga continues.  I would say I’m about 90 percent there at this point.  I got my window-manager problem fixed.  I ended up switching to GDM from Mint’s LightDM, then found this:  http://ubuntuforums.org/archive/index.php/t-906990.html.  Ended up only having to edit /usr/share/xsessions/Afterstep.desktop and change the “Type” parameter to “Application” and pound (comment) out the “NoDisplay=true” parameter line, then restarting X.

I also got my browser (Firefox 10) set up and safely working under a separate user (see my previous article post on this subject). This is something I highly recommend to all Linux/Unix users since it’s not hard to do and greatly adds to your computer’s security, since the browser and any malicious code launched through it runs as a user with very weak privileges and thus can be prevented from altering, or even seeing other programs and data on your computer.  I do not know if this is feasible on Windows, but I do recommend working in Windows (if you insist) as a separate (non-Administrator) user.

Got my fonts working on Tk/a2x by adding all the files from my old /usr/share/fonts/truetype/freefont/ dir.  Then I added symlinks to atm3270.ttf, atmfull.ttf, and lucon.ttf to /usr/share/ghostscript/fonts/.  This makes them visible to ghostscript and Tk.  To get them visible in X/xfontsel, I looked in /var/log/Xorg.0.log, which told me it looked by default for fonts in various X-ish places and “/var/lib/defoma/x-ttcidfont-conf.d/dirs/TrueType/”. There was nothing in there but empty fonts.dir, fonts.scale, fonts.alias, and encodings.dir.  So, I ended up renaming that directory and symlinking TrueType instead to /usr/share/fonts/truetype/freefont.  That’s where all my cool truetype fonts live along with, the requisite (for X) apparently, the fonts.dir and friends files.  This seemed to work for a while, but has since stopped working.  I’ve yet to figure out why.

Another old dockapp program that no longer worked was “wmpower“, which stops working somewhere after kernel 2.6.35 or something like that.  Problem is that it has the path to the kernel’s power management stuff hard-coded to “/proc/acpi/info”.  In newer kernels it’s now “/proc/acpi/wakeup”.  All I had to do was download the latest wmpower source (v. 0.4.3) and modify /src/power_management/acpi/libacpi.c, line 81 as follows (diff/patch):

81c81
< if (access("/proc/acpi/info", R_OK) != 0) return 0;
---
> if (access("/proc/acpi/info", R_OK) != 0 && access("/proc/acpi/wakeup", R_OK) != 0) return 0;


and follow the instructions to build (./configure; make; make install) and now it works like a champ!

Anyway, this is what led me to a solition:  http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/slackware-14/no-acpi-support-in-kernel-890644/.
 

Love, Tears & BloodLove, Tears & Blood

Misc. Other Stuff:

The Obamanation tries to use Jesus to Justify [Higher] Taxes
“Perhaps he should not take Jesus out of context.  He [Jesus] was speaking of charity to your fellow man.  NOT of charity to [or by] your government.  It is the American people who are the MOST charitable people in the world.”
me:I totally agree and wish to add this quote from II Thessalonians 3:10: “For even when we were with you, this we commanded you, that if any would not work, neither should he eat.”

Justice Ginsburg: ‘I Would Not Look to the U.S. Constitution’
me:It is really sad that we apparently have appointed a justice to our highest court and who is sworn to “protect and defend”, and in the case of a justice, to interpret our constitution who feels this way about it.

Weekend project: Zap Your Coworkers’ Minds with Multi-Pointer X!
me:I keep meaning to try this!

 
 


 
 
I took this photo in a park area in my mom’s neighborhood while visiting this week.  Then in a rare moment of artistic inspiration, I decided to add the streaming teardrop of blood.  Also thought about bloodying the other dark streaks on his face but decided on just the single tear.  It seems to bring out a variety emotions on different levels that I can’t even begin to explain, much less express, so we’ll just leave it at that.
One Comment

  1. Posted February 19, 2012 at 1:17 am | Permalink | Reply

    UPDATE: I also had to modify /usr/share/ghostscript/9.04/Resource/Init/Fontmap.GS and add the following lines to provide aliases in my fonts for use in “ppost -fFONTALIAS”:

    /Extra (atm3270.ttf) ;
    /LucidaConsole (lucon.ttf) ;

Feel Free to Comment (Name/Email/Website optional):

