My 300th Post: The usual – photography, random thoughts & interesting links

Millard's Crossing
Old porch just like my great grandparent’s (Millard’s Crossing)
Ye olde bathtub
19th century bathtub, (Millard’s Crossing)
This is my 300th post to this blog according to WordPress!  Don’t have anything spectacular or earth-shattering to write about at the moment. Things seem to be settling into the dog days of Summer as I haven’t been getting out hardly any during the day except to go sit out in my pool since it’s so hot.  I still try to get out and walk in the evenings.  This weekend I’ve been so bored, but I am looking forward to doing another photo-shoot for Now Magazine next week, though!

I apparently created this blog way back on September 24, 2004 on Livejournal with a small technical rant about the Courier email package I was attempting to install and test for a client.  I had originally intended for it to be mostly technical notes that I wanted to save and access from anywhere on the web when working at client sites.  I also started logging my workouts there.  I never really intended for anyone else to look at it or even care.  It was about four years ago that I decided to start making a real “blog” out of it and start writing and sharing stuff that (I hope) others might find interesting after I had begun to discover and follow other blogs that did contain interesting material.  I guess this probably makes this blog one of the older blogs out there.  Since then I’ve blogged about a wide range of subjects including within individual posts.  I tend to blog a lot about my photography hobby (as you can see here), and just about anything of interest to me at the moment.  It’s also here that I express myself in ways that I’m willing to share with the world, including the occasional political rant.  I also like to include links to other stories, blogs, videos, and images I stumble upon in my travels across the great world-wide web!  If you find my last few posts boring, please feel free to wait for the next one, chances are it will be about something different!  When I decided to move to WordPress a while back, I thought I would pretty much have to start over, but they have a very nice feature that allows one to “copy over” existing blogs on certain other sides (including Livejournal), so I was able to not only copy over all my existing LJ posts, but WordPress kept the dates and everything!
 


 
This beautiful “votive” candle holder adorns the window in my mom’s sun room.  She bought it in Israel when they vacationed there a few months ago (the last time I house-sat for them).  I was house-sitting again for them earlier this month when I noticed it. The original (unedited) image is here.
votive candle holder from Israel Border Insecurity:  Heavily-Armed Texas Gunboats Now Patrolling the Rio Grande  (since the Federales WON’T)
by John Hill, Stand With Arizona, July 11, 2012.
me:Lovin’ that Gunboat Diplomacy, One thing Mexicans have historically feared, with good reason, is our Texas Rangers (and I’m not talking baseball)!  Remember the Alamo!

Today’s Quote:  “Even more disheartening is that reviving the American dream just became nearly impossible to do,” he said. “We are now a nation which supports dependency rather than independence. Instead of encouraging self-reliance, we are encouraging people to rely on the government.” – Gov. Paul LePage (Maine).
LePage calls IRS the ‘new Gestapo’
by Steve Mistler, Morning Sentinel, July 14, 2012.

30 Handy Bash Shell Aliases For Linux / Unix / Mac OS X
by Vivek Gite, Cyberciti, June 11, 2012.

Where Do Baby Carrots Come From?
by Matt Soniak, Mental Floss, April 4, 2011.

WOW:  A Linux computer for Grandpa and Grandma
by Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols for Linux and Open Source – ZD Net, July 8, 2012.  me:Wow, check this out!

The poorer middle class,
Obsession with income redistribution is destroying U.S. productivity

by Nita Ghei, The Washington Times, June 14, 2012.

DNSCrypt – [en]crypt Your DNS Request[s]  by Linuxaria, July, 2012.


A Simple Illusion that Completely Screws Up Your Sense of Space
by Esther Inglis-Arkell, io9.com, Jun 22, 2012.

Surreal Photography by Philippe Halsman
from eMorfes (blog), January 4, 2011.
me:Absolutely Love these images!
Check out his blog for more!
Feel Free to Comment (Name/Email/Website optional):

