Come Monday, The Labor Day Weekend Show

Come Monday, by Jimmy Buffett
I’ve always associated this song with Labor Day.  I’ve “got my hushpuppies on” and am just goofing off and writing this blog.  Otherwise, no plans, just taking a deep breath and catching up on domestic chores.
Infrared filter+Sepia via GIMP
Took this photo of the approaching train in color while out walking, applied b&w infrared and sepia filters in the camera, and then used GIMP to touch up the sepia and contrast.
Wolf spider w/babies I took this photo of a female wolf spider whose eggs have recently hatched and all of her offspring are riding on her back, which they will do until they are old enough to get along on their own.  I also used my 90mm macro lens for this night photo, along with flash.  The challenge here was to get close enough to capture the detail of the dozens of tiny spiders on her abdomin while still getting the pop-up flash on the camera to flash over the extended length of this lens.  I saw several such spider moms out that night while walking.  I had seen them the previous night and made sure that I brought my macro with me this time!
 


 
Melissa Ohden was born alive after a failed abortionAnother reason I’m pro Life!

New Hover Vehicle Recalls “Star Wars” Bike
by Jeremy Hsu, LiveScience.com, Aug. 20, 2012.
me:WANT THIS!!
What Died With Neil Armstrong
by Megan Garber, The Atlantic, Aug. 27 2012.
me:A truly meek man and a real American hero!

EPIC FAIL: Obama Admin. Drops 3-Year Witch-hunt Against Sheriff Joe Arpaio (No Charges)
by John Hill, Stand With Arizona.com, Aug. 31, 2012.
me:Booyah! some rare Good News on the political front! Congratulations to Sheriff Joe, a Great American Patriot that hopefully some day kids will be reading about in history classes.  It’s great to WIN ONE now and then!

World Bank: Food prices up 10% around the globe thanks to [U.S.] ethanol [mandates]
by Kevin Danielsen, IJReview.com, September 1, 2012.
me:I don’t EVER want to hear President Obama’s supporters talking about Conservatives not caring about the poor and hungry children EVER AGAIN! This is just disgustingly STUPID and WRONG!

Ousted EPA administrator vows to “stop the construction of any new coal plants in Texas”  me:How stupid &sad.
by Rob Bluey, Hotair.com, Aug. 6, 2012.

Feel Free to Comment (Name/Email/Website optional):

