My so-called weekend…

My in-laws are in the process of cleaning house of stuff and were successful in unloading some on us.  We also prefer to be a net exporter of stuff because we don’t have a lot of room for it either, so we didn’t take much.  One thing my wife snagged was a dozen of these old church song books that we can use when we have our church’s youth group over for group singing.  I always liked the humorous “ten commandments” page at the beginning.  The newer ones lack this.

Meanwhile, S. picked up these two beautiful prints, shown below and at left:

 
The left one is “My Gems”, 1888, by William M. Harnett (1848-1892).

At right is “Boulevard Des Italiens, Morning Sunlight”, 1897, by Camille Pissarro (1830-1903), Chester Dale Collection.

BREAKING NEWS:  The Fightin’ Texas Aggies BTHO the Hogs of Arkansas 58-10 after trailing 10-7 in the first quarter – WHOOP & BOOYAH!  Congratulations Aggies on your first SEC Victory of the season!  Bacon and ham for dinner!

Otherwise, this weekend has been just one big pile of crap.  First, one of our dogs, which has been ill and to the vet last week really went downhill Saturday morning and had to go to the emergency vet, who did xrays and found a mass and sent her back home.  She got much worse Sunday, and when we took her back to the vet that evening, we had to have her put down. 😦  She was eleven years old.

The one bright spot was Friday, when I got to watch the new season premiere of FRINGE, after plans to hang out with friends fell through!  Next, it’s also been virtually non-stop rain and wind all weekend.  I’ve been very busy this last week at work staring at my computer and now I got to just sit here and watch football and stare at my computer most of the weekend too (paying the bills, facebooking, surfing, and writing this blog post).  It is supposed to clear up and be beautiful and perfect Autumn weather all next week starting Monday, of course, when I’ll again be stuck inside staring at my computer all day at work.  At least last week, the monotony was briefly broken up by a work trip to Houston Monday and Tuesday for all-hands meetings.  Anyway, enough whining for now.  September, you started with such potential, but you ended with a complete thud.
 

Purple "False Thistle" “Late have I loved Thee, O Lord; and behold, you were within and I without, and there I sought you.  You were with me when I was not with Thee.  You did call, and cry, and burst my deafness.  You did gleam, and glow, and dispel my blindness.  You did touch me, and I burned for Thy peace.  You have formed us for yourself, and our hearts are restless until in they find their rest in you.  Late have I loved Thee, Your Beauty ever old and ever new.  You have burst my bonds asunder; unto Thee will I offer up an offering of praise.” – Augustine.
 


 
I love purple “False-Thistles”.  They bring back fond memories of childhood going out for drives in the country with my dad on cool Autumn afternoons and cutting some for my mom.  I’ve had the blooms last for a year after picking since they remain purple after they die!
 


 
“Between the early 1980s and 2007 we lived in an economic Golden Age. Never before have so many people advanced so far economically in so short a period of time as they have during the last 25 years. Until the credit crisis, 70 million people a year [worldwide] were joining the middle class. The U.S. kicked off this long boom with the economic reforms of Ronald Reagan” – Steve Forbes, 2008.
Perpetuating Falsehoods, by Peter Ferrara, Spectator.org, Sep. 26, 2012.
me:The Revisionist Liberal Media would like you to forget all this but I WON’T allow you to forget!

How to search files using the find command in Linux
by Sanjeev Kumar, Alien Coders, Aug. 13, 2012.

Feel Free to Comment (Name/Email/Website optional):

