Thankful for an Awesome Thanksgiving Week


Beautiful photo of tree roots in creek at my in-laws’ house, taken by S.
This last Thanksgiving week was absolutely AWESOME, I have so much to be thankful for!  In a rare alignment of the planets, everything this very busy week went as planned!  I took off Wednesday so we could make our annual Thanksgiving eve pilgrimage to my in-laws to bring them Turkey and all the fixings from Boston Market for a big, hassle-free dinner with them.  The great thing about this is we all get to spend the whole time eating and enjoying each other’s company without anyone having to cook or clean up!

Thursday, my wife made a huge turkey dinner for us at our house and S., my mom, and her husband all came up to join us.  It was great to see and visit with all of them that day and evening.  The only minor disappointment being that da ‘Boyz weren’t ready to play against the ‘Skins.  Fortunately it was long enough after dinner though to avoid indigestion!

Friday, “Christmas happened” (as my wife C. put it).  I spent the day stringing up all the outdoor Christmas lights.  C. and S. put up the tree and all the indoor decs. and went and got some boards to (have me) make some “shoe shelves”, which I had to do Friday evening as S. was going back to school Sat. morn. to go to the Aggie / Missouri game.  It was weird NOT playing tu on TG this year (the first time in, like, a hundred years, but they didn’t want to play us anymore after we left for the greener pastures of the SEC).  Oh well, TCU took good care of ’em though!  😀

Saturday, the weather was perfect and a friend and I got to go spend the day in Grandbury doing a joint photo-shoot that we had been planning for quite some time. (See all / larger photos!)  Then I got to spend Saturday night chillin’ out with some friends in Denton at the Labb watching my Fightin’ Texas Aggies Beat the ever-living H-E-Double-toothpicks out of Mizzou for their tenth win of the season and Johnny “Johnny Football” Manziel make his final case for the Heisman Trophy!  WHOOP!

SMC Pentax FA 50mm f1.4

SMC Pentax 21mm f3.2 AL Limited
The only thing now is my Whooper is whipped because I’ve come down with a mild case of Laryngitis this weekend, which was bad enough until I spent the evening Whooping and shouting for our Aggies in this smoky sports bar, pretty much doing in what was left of my voice.  In church Sunday morning, I was only able to sing the lowest base notes.  Of course we sang some really good hymns that morning too!  As always, I totally avoided doing ANY shopping during this weekend, I generally detest shopping in general and absolutely hate crowds and getting up early.

If anyone’s looking for something to get me this Christmas, I’ll make it easy for you – I really, really want this and / or this!  >>>>>
 


 This was one of my favorite shots from Grandbury, as you can see, I had fun experimenting with exposures.  The first two are two different shots, the third I created in-camera using a digital filter:

Underexposed 0.7 stop to bring out glass fixture.

Overexposed 1 stop to bring out statue.

Inverted, because I thought it looked cool!

Decided to make this downtown photo old-schoolish (b&w + sepia)

Hood Co. Courthouse seen from Grandbury Cemetery

Big beautiful old cedar tree with interesting low limb

Pretty rural scene between Weatherford and Grandbury

View from old movie theater on the square (overexposed a stop to bring out interior features)
<<<<<  Old Hood Co. Jail, used until 1972 (wow, yuck, that made me really claustrophobic)!

 Other leftover turkey and bits from this week:
The History of Cultural Marxism & Political Correctness <<<<<  me:You can’t stop the signal!  Are you resisting “the narrative” or are you part of it?!

America Is A Frog In A Pot Of Slowly Heating Water That’s About To Boil
by Charlie Daniels, November 18, 2012.

Newbie Guide to Installing Linux as a Virtual Machine
by liquidvApor, Pinehead.tv, Nov. 19, 2012.

Team Fortress 2 Available On Linux For Non-Beta Steam Accounts
by Andrew, Web UPD8.com, Nov. 19, 2012.

Setting limits with ulimit
by Sandra Henry-Stocker, IT World, Nov. 18, 2012.

One Comment

  1. Anonymous
    Posted November 27, 2012 at 3:24 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Really nice account of what TG week sould be about! ie family aand Aggie football etc.

Feel Free to Comment (Name/Email/Website optional):

