Finishing out 2012 with a Wonderful Final Week

The line has been crossed, the plain is broken, the goal is attained, there’ll be no turning back –
We have crossed the Rubicon!
This was one of the best Christmas celebrations for me in years.  What is always both a joyful but harried and stressful time for me went remarkably well without a hitch this year!  First, I was able to get all the shopping done and was able to get everyone on my list what they wanted.  The annual trip to two sets of relatives went very smoothly with no traffic jams or items left behind (very rare!),  The weather was perfect both days.  It was sunny and in the fifties for the travel day (unlike 3 years ago when we nearly did not make it home due to the roads icing up that night).  We got over an inch of much needed RAIN the night before Christmas, including Thunder (it had not rained here since October) and the power did NOT go out!  Then we got a beautiful white Christmas day with 2 inches of SNOW!  S. was very surprised and happy to get a much-desired, new iPhone and I got both the lenses I was anxiously awaiting!
"Sunset on Venus", by me
“Sunset on Venus”, by (c) me
My smart and thoughtful wife got me an awesome new rugby shirt (that I did not even ask for) and some new, much needed pants, and, of course all my fav. sugary junk food snacks (Thank you Honey)!  We just sat around and chilled out eating junk food and watching Christmas DVDs all day (and I spent a good amount of time going through and editing Christmas photos and taking some of the beautiful snow).  C. even made a delicious turkey dinner for us that evening to cap it all off!  I am truly and extremely blessed and could not have been happier!  I’m now having loads of fun with my 50mm f1.4 new toy!  I shot a bird on the wing with it this morning!  It makes shooting almost as much fun as a “Red Ryder Carbine-Action Two-Hundred-Shot Range Model Air Rifle!” (see “A Christmas Story“)  Now, I’m ready for the weather to warm up a bit.
"The Great Escape"
Shot a bird on the wing with my new 50mm f1.4!  (1/6000″ f1.8)
I’m liking my new “fast 50” Pentax FA 50mm f1.4 and the cool field-depth effects I can get with it!  The only mild disappointment I have with it is that it does not work with my camera to auto-correct chromatic aberrations (purple-fringing), so I’ve had to use GIMP to do that using a cool “Darla” plug-in script.  (To install it, simply download it and go into [Edit].[Preferences].[Folders.Scripts] and either put the script file in one of those locations or add the one where your script file will live).

This year has been a pretty good year for me.  It seems like things have just gotten better with each passing month.  I Guess the Mayans were wrong, and I wasn’t totally ready for the world to end anyway, In fact, I’m sort of liking this post-Mayan world so far!  I should probably make some resolutions, such as getting back into shape by working out more, but I’m never good at keeping them, so I guess I won’t.

Anyway, I just wanted to share some of the photos I’ve been doing, along with the latest from the Stack.
 


 
Beware cheap “circular” polaizers
by kevindt, Pentax Forums, July 8, 2009.
me:My cheap $15 ones from Best Buy passed with flying colors!

Facebook bans Gandhi quote as part of revisionist history purge
by Mike Adams, “The Health Ranger”, Natural News.com, Dec. 27, 2012.

How to lower your blood pressure without prescription drugs
by Ethan A. Huff, staff writer, Natural News.com, Dec. 27, 2012.

Untitled
Out on a lonely, peaceful walk with my new 21mm “Pancake”
Water in Transition
Our Christmas snow is melting away!
Knife-wielding man injures 22 children in China
by Terril Yue Jones, Reuters, Dec. 14, 2012.
me:So, you think banning guns will solve our problems, eh?!

The Secret History of Guns  by Adam Winkler, The Atlantic, Sep. 2011.
me:Very interesting read, gives me some new-found respect for the Black Panthers.


Where was God“, by Mike Huckabee;  M.H.+me:God is working in the lives & hearts of His followers! The majority mock and reject Him, then wonder why He allows our godless culture to reap what it has sown.

Happy New Year, Everyone!

Feel Free to Comment (Name/Email/Website optional):

