More Small-town Texas Photography


Masters Champion Adam Scott celebrates victory Sunday
Image courtesy (© 2013) Masters / PGA
I’ve been busy taking advantage of the beautiful weekend weather we’ve been having around here lately and getting out and taking lots of pictures of small-town Texas this month, shooting recently in Lipan, Santo, Palo Pinto, Sanger, and Pilot Point, along with parts here and there and in between!  This last weekend, I had two lovely female friends – N. and C. take me for a nice drive from Denton to Sanger and Pilot Point in N’s convertible and show me the best places to shoot!  Then it was off to watch a Texas Rangers baseball game at our favorite sports pub in Denton to meet up with another friend, P.  The Rangers even won 5-0 over the Seattle Mariners for their second straight shutout.  They’ll have the brooms out at Arlington today!  All in all, a great day with great friends!

The previous Sunday was the Masters and I had to decide whether to go outside in the beautiful weather and shoot in Santo or stay home and watch the Masters, which is the only PGA tournament I ever watch much of.  I chose to go out and had a great time AND, lucky me, I got back just in time to see the extra playoff holes between Adam Scott from Australia and Angel Cabrera of Argentina and the awarding of the green jacket to Adam Scott and Australia, who won by a single stroke on the second hole of the sudden death playoff with a birdie!

While out I drove to Santo, Texas and then to Palo Pinto and returned home through Mineral Wells, Texas.  I spent the time walking around and taking pictures of the beautiful old buildings and other artifacts that I ran across.  And this time, fortunately, no deer or other animals were harmed in the making of these photos!  As usual, you can view all of the images from Sanger, Palo Pinto, and Mineral Wells in larger size here.  I’ll have to leave you in suspense and post photos from this last weekend in Sanger and Palo Pinto in my next post, so stay tuned!


Cool rusted-out tractor and antique gas pump
on US Hwy. 180, going South out of Mineral Wells, Texas;  by (© 2013) me.
Antique gas pump

Old buildings on private property next to park in Santos, Texas
<<< General store in downtown Santos, Texas;  by (© 2013) me.

Community Center in downtown Palo Pinto, Texas;  by (© 2013) me.

Old Mineral Wells High School;  by (© 2013) me.
Feel Free to Comment (Name/Email/Website optional):

