Athens, Texas Photoshoot

These are from a photo-shoot I did in Athens, Texas while driving through last week.  The red building is a recently-closed Dairy Queen that was operating when I was a small child.  My folks used to stop there on our way to my grandmother’s house in East Texas.  It was the only stop we made on that long car ride and was about the half-way point.  I could hardly wait to get there and get a Sundae!  I was hoping to again, but found it closed. You can view all the photos in larger sizes here.  Athens is the county seat of Henderson County in East-Central Texas along U.S. 175 between Dallas and Jacksonville.  We stopped traveling this way when I was older and I-20 between Dallas and Tyler was completed.  Oh, and I just realised that this is my 350th blog-post!
Abandoned Dairy Queen in Athens, Texas
Abandoned Dairy Queen of Fond Childhood Memories; by (© 2013) me.
 
 
Interesting old storefront in Athens, Texas
Interesting old Athenian storefront; by (© 2013) me.
Abandoned store in Athens, Texas
Abandoned store, downtown Athens, Texas; by (© 2013) me.
 
 
North-side view of the Square, downtown Athens, Texas
North-side view of the Square; by (© 2013) me.
Statue of guy fiddlin'
Fiddler statue (I forgot to read the plaque)
Ghostly reflection of me
Old store & ghostly reflection of me.
Mural over old hardware store, downtown Athens, Texas
Mural over old hardware store; by (© 2013) me.
Feel Free to Comment (Name/Email/Website optional):

