Still more Audacious Hackery, and Photography

Dual instances of Audacious
Muting commercials while listening to music!…
BOOYAH!  I now have my Rush Fix BACK!  I used to listen to Rush Limbaugh on our wonderful local AM/FM radio station WBAP, which I lovingly refer to as “Bubba-BAP”.  All was well until they decided to move their FM broadcast to some new-fangled “HD-radio” channel that will require me to buy a new radio in order to get – SCREW THAT!  I could go BACKWARDS in technology and get it on AM, but AM has gotten much too staticy around here of late with people using arc-welders, etc. – Screw that too!  I USED to be able to stream it with Audacious while concurrently running a second instance of Audacious streaming my music and pause-toggle between the two during commercials (using my awesomely-cool HACK) that will mute only the radio instance while continuing to stream (to the bit bucket) allowing resumption post-break, (about five minutes later).  This was well and good until WBAP javascripted, encrypted, and cookied up their site to no longer stream except via their site on your browser through their super locked-down proprietary special snowflake media player (which grabs and monopolizes the sound-card preventing you from muting it only there, so you can’t listen to something else.  Pausing it will only let you pick up where you left off – at the beginning of the commercial break) – SCREW THAT!  I decided that’s it, I’m going to find another way to do this!  I won’t bore you with the gory details of the trial and error I went through to get this to work again, but will simply tell you what does work.  I ended up going to IHeartRadio.com and found WBAP at: http://www.iheart.com/live/5350/.  I unsuccessfully tried searching the page source for a streaming link, so I installed a Firefox addon called “Media Stealer”, which I used to tell me the available media URLs (after I clicked the “Listen Live” button) and ultimately ended up with “http://8273.live.streamtheworld.com/WBAPAMAAC?terminalid=152”! This I plugged into my old WBAP script and it works like a dream!  See my bash script below:

#(RE)SET UP A FIFO (NOTE) - I RUN THIS UNDER A SEPARATE, LOW-PRIVILEGED USER ("browser"):

sudo rm -f /tmp/fifo.wav
sudo su -c "mkfifo /tmp/fifo.wav" browser

#NOTE BELOW THE "n" OPTION WHICH OPENS A 2ND (NEW) INSTANCE OF AUDACIOUS
#SO YOU CAN HAVE ANOTHER ONE ALREADY RUNNING PLAYING YOUR MUSIC DURING COMMERCIAL BREAKS!
#THE "P" OPTION CAUSES BUTTON TO MUTE ONLY;
#THE "q" OPTION TURNS OFF EQUALIZER (IT'S TALK RADIO):

sudo /usr/bin/nice -n -5 su -c "cat /tmp/fifo.wav | audacious -nPq file://-.wav &" browser
sleep 1
sudo su -c "mplayer -idle -slave -msglevel all=-1 -af volume=13 -nojoystick -nolirc \
http://8273.live.streamtheworld.com/WBAPAMAAC?terminalid=152 -vc null -vo null -ao \
pcm:waveheader:file=/tmp/fifo.wav &" browser

In other news, I had the opportunity to go to a shooting range for a “guys day out” last Saturday with some fellow guy friends from Church and try my hand as shooting some pistols and other guns that I’d never shot before!  It was a new and rewarding experience for me.  The weather was perfect and, of course, I also got to shoot my camera some too (photos were portraits of friends so, not posting publicly)!  I must say that I’m a bit more accurate with my camera than with a pistol, but hey, I’ve had a lot more practice with the former!

This week’s been typical Texas weather.  I captured these two sunsets Thursday evening while out walking in shorts on a nice 75° evening after work, knowing that that was the last chance to do that for the next week.  These clouds were a gathering line of storms ahead of a Canadian cold front that, within the next three hours, brought nearly two inches of rain and took the temperature down into the 30s, from which it has not risen above, nor has the sun peaked out since!  Winter’s officially here now, so I’m sitting here inside with nothing better to do than to actually write a new post!

Gathering Winter Storm
“Gathering Winter Storm” – by (© 2013) me.
Sunset on Autumn
“Sunset on Autumn” – by (© 2013) me.
Moon caught in the Rocks
“Moon caught in the rocks” – by (© 2013) me.
Fibromyalgia solved; A pathology, not in the mind
by Paul Mountjoy, Washington Times, Oct. 17, 2013.

Using TrueCrypt on Linux and Windows
by Doug Vitale (blog) Nov. 18, 2013.

10 basic examples of linux netstat command
by Silver Moon, BinaryTides, Nov 12, 2013.

Pytube – A Python Based, Command Line Tool To Download Youtube Videos
by Himanshu Arora, MyLinuxBook, Sep. 20, 2013.

Top 5 Video Editors for Ubuntu/Linux
by Manuel Jose, Tech Drive-in, Sep. 22, 2013.

Shell In A Box — A Web-Based SSH Terminal to Access Remote Linux Servers;  by Ravi Saive, Tecmint, Oct. 2, 2013.

10 Lesser Known Linux Commands – Part 2
by Avishek Kumar, Tecmint, Oct. 30, 2013.

8 Ways To Mount SMBfs (SAMBA FILE SYSTEM) In Linux
by Surendra Kumar Anne, The Linux Juggernaut, Sep. 8, 2009.

How to compile the Linux kernel on Debian or Ubuntu
by Dan Nanni, Xmodulo, Aug. 23, 2012.

What is a good HEX editor on Linux?
by Dan Nanni, XModulo, Sep. 30, 2013.

Switching Monitor Profiles
by Kyle Rankin, Linux Journal, Oct. 24, 2013.

Feel Free to Comment (Name/Email/Website optional):

