Graham, Jacksboro Texas, etc. Photo-shoot

I35 in Sanger, by Stacey Spiker
I35 in Sanger, by (© 2013) Stacey Spiker.
We here in North Texas are completely iced in this weekend.  This picture pretty much sums up the condition of all of our antiquated major roads around here.  The streets are mostly deserted.  Fortunately for me, I work at home and our power has not yet gone out!  The temperature has not been out of the twenties since Thursday morning.  Today, the sun came back out and I got a rare opportunity to photograph some Autumn leaves together with the frozen Winter sleet in our yard.

Fortunately (#2) I knew this was coming and so I took the day off Wednesday (sunny and 70s) and went driving around and taking photographs in several North Texas small towns, then met up with friends in Denton to have dinner and hang out!  I drove out to Graham and while there, had lunch at this cozy cafe on the square called “The Big Chill”.  Then I got some shots of the Veterans’ Memorial, the Young Co. courthouse, and other buildings on the square.  Next, it was on to Jacksboro via Bryson.  I stopped at an old-fashioned drug store with a real, working soda fountain and had a delicious chocolate milkshake!  There I also got photos of the Jack Co. courthouse and other assorted stuff.  (I sort of have it now as a goal to eventually get photos of all 250 or so county courthouses in Texas.  Many are very beautiful and over a hundred years old.  You can view all these photos and more here, courtesy Camera Enthusiast or here on my Flickr stream.

I’ve also started working on my third annual photo calendar for next year.  Not sure about the price/cost yet, but if you’re interested on one, just message me and let me know and later I can give you a price and if you want, have one made for you!

Autumn meets Winter, at my place
Autumn meets Winter, at my place;  by (© 2013) me.
Front lobby, Young Co. Courthouse, Graham, Texas
Front lobby, Young Co. Courthouse, Graham, Texas;  by (© 2013) me.
The Big Chill Cafe, Graham, Texas
“The Big Chill Cafe”, Graham, Texas;  by (© 2013) me.
Young Co. Courthouse, Graham, Texas
Young Co. Courthouse, Graham, Texas;  by (© 2013) me.
Veterans' Memorial, Graham, Texas
Veterans’ Memorial, Graham, Texas;  by (© 2013) me.
Downtown Jacksboro, Texas
Downtown Jacksboro, Texas;  by (© 2013) me.
Jack Co. Courthouse Square, Jacksboro, Texas
Jack Co. Courthouse Square;  by (© 2013) me.
Mmmmmmm, chillin' w/a milkshake in a Jacksboro drugstore
Mmmmmmm, chillin’ w/a milkshake in Jacksboro!
Artist in Graham, Texas
“Artist in Graham, Texas;  by (© 2013) me.
Classic '50s era Chevy Biscayne, Godley, Texas
Classic ’50s era Chevy Biscayne, Godley, Texas;  by (© 2013) me.
Lone Star Cafe, Denton, Texas
Lone Star Cafe, Denton, Texas;  by (© 2013) me.
Movie theater on the square in Graham, Texas
Movie theater on the square in Graham, Texas;  by (© 2013) me.
Jack Co. Courthouse, Jacksboro, Texas
Jack Co. Courthouse, Jacksboro, Texas;  by (© 2013) me.
Last Supper mural, Lone Star Cafe, Denton, Texas
“Last Supper” mural, Lone Star Cafe, Denton, Texas;  by (© 2013) me.
Denton Co. Courthouse
Denton Co. Courthouse, Denton, Texas;  by (© 2013) me.
3 Comments

  1. Posted December 8, 2013 at 7:42 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Nice gallery! Especially like the highway image of Sanger!

    • Posted December 8, 2013 at 7:55 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Thank you. I liked that one too b/c it well-describes the situation around here, even though it’s not mine (I’m not goin’ anywhere while the roads are like this)!

  2. Posted May 16, 2017 at 5:07 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Stands back from the keyboard in amezmeant! Thanks!

Feel Free to Comment (Name/Email/Website optional):

