Stuff from the Stack


1906 + 2010: The Earthquake Blend (Part I)
by (©) Shawn Clover, Oct. 1, 2010.
See also this story by Vincze Miklós, IO9, Aug. 12, 2013.
me:I soooooo want to try this more!  I’ve done a couple but they did not turn out well due to my failure to locate the precise point from which the original photo was taken.


Catch the Falling Stars: Perseid Meteor Shower 2013
by Phil Plait, Slate, Aug. 9, 2013.
Image courtesy (© 2013) Thomas O’Brien.

Growing Number Of Restaurants Banning Children During Peak Hours
by CBS New York, Aug. 8, 2013.
me:Amen!  One screaming kid can absolutely ruin a restaurant dining experience.  Especially since now, hardly anyone diciplines their children anymore.  When I was growing up, I wasn’t taken to an adult restaurant until I was old enough to be quiet.  Either take ’em to kid-friendly eateries or get a sitter!

Federal Regulations Have Made You 75 Percent Poorer
by Ronald Bailey, Reason, June 21, 2013.

Ants battling
Macrophotographs of Ant Warfare Are Downright Epic
by Robert T. Gonzalez, IO9, July 29, 2013.

Military Censors Christian Chaplain, Atheists Call for Punishment
by Ken Klukowski, Breitbart, July 24, 2013.
me:Absolutely incredible.  Prayers for this chaplain, our armed forces, and our country!

Feds tell Web firms to turn over user account passwords
by Declan McCullagh, CNET, July 25, 2013.
me:To you young people:  This is NOT the America I grew up in!

Interesting mural
Colorful mural in Frankston, Texas; by (© 2013) me.

Courts quietly confirm MMR Vaccine causes Autism
by TrueActivist.
me:I’m still somewhat skeptical about all the vaccine scares, but it’s interesting that this seems to have been tried in court.

Swedish researchers create an impossible material by mistake
by George Dvorsky, IO9, July 23, 2013.
me:The best things are invented accidently!

Spinning Lady Right & Left Brain TestSpinning Lady Right & Left Brain Test
by Mind Motivations.

me:I can look away at something else, then look back and she’ll be spinning the other way!  She’s most likely to spin counter for me unless I cover up the shadow of her leg, which, to my left brain, is a dead giveaway.  Try it yourself then read the article to find out what it means!

Freedom Prevails As Officials Scrap Texas School System’s RFID Student Monitoring Program
by Ben Bullard, Personal Liberty, Aug. 8, 2013.
me:Some good news!!

I Wonder If Sunday School Is Destroying Our Kids
by Beliefs of the Heart, July 23, 2013.

new Enviromental speed-limit signEnvironmental Speed Limits [under] Review in North Texas

by [North Texas] Regional Transportation [Toll] Council, Aug. 8, 2013.
Image courtesy (© 2003) Juan Garcia, Dallas News.

me:See, I told you so (when I spoke before your committee back in 2001 when this was first being pro[im]posed)!  Yes, I’m vindicated once again!

How to back up hard drives for disaster recovery with Clonezilla
by Dan Nanni, X Modulo, Aug. 7, 2013.

Netcat tutorial – command examples on linux
by Silver Moon, Binary Tides, Aug. 18, 2013.

OpenShot Video Editor in Ubuntu Linux
by Next Step 4 IT.

Methodist Church
Gleaming white Methodist Church, Frankston, Texas; by (© 2013) me.

DynDNS and ddclient: Access Your Linux From Anywhere
by Oussama Krifa, Linuxaria, July 28, 2013.

Replicant fully-free Android Distro Project Solicits Funds
by Rick Lehrbaum, Linux Gizmos.

Ten ways you can avoid being caught in the PRISM net
by James H. Hamlyn-Harris, TrueActivist, July 11, 2013.

Ghostly self-image
Ghostly reflection of me caught in this window (in Athens); by (© 2013) me.

Feel Free to Comment (Name/Email/Website optional):